President Jonathan sacks entire NNPC Executive Board Nigerian News

President Jonathan has terminated the employment of the entire executive board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), sending them on compulsory retirement.

The affected management staff included Austin Oniwon, former Group Managing Director; Michael Arokodare, former ED in charge of Finance and Accounts; Philip Chukwu, former ED in charge of Refineries and Petrochemicals; and Billy Agha, former ED in charge of Engineering and Technology.

The President appointed Mr. Andrew Yakubu as the new Group Managing Director of Nigeria’s apex oil body. Yakubu is a graduate of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) where he studied Chemical Engineering. He has worked for the NNPC for 22 years.

According to a statement released by Dr. Reuben Abati, the termination of the former executive board is to strengthen the reforms and transformation of the petroleum sector.

The statement reads, “To further strengthen the ongoing reforms and transformation of Nigeria’s petroleum sector, and in furtherance of efforts to achieve greater transparency  and accountability in government, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has approved the re-composition of the executive management team of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) as follows:

“Andrew Yakubu – Group Managing Director;  Mr. Bernard O.N. Otti – Group Executive Director (Finance and Accounts); Abiye Membere – Group Executive Director (Exploration and Production); Dr. Peter S. Nmadu – Group Executive Director (Corporate Services); Anthony Ogbuigwe – Group Executive Director (Refineries & Petrochemicals); Dr. Attahir B. Yusuf – Group Executive Director (Commercial & Investments); Dr. David Ige – Group Executive Director (Gas & Power).

“President Jonathan has also approved the appointment of Victor Briggs as the new Managing Director of the Nigerian Petroleum Development Company (NPDC).

“The incumbent Group Managing Director, Austen Oniwon, and Mr. Michael Arokodare (outgoing Group Executive Director (Finance and Accounts), Mr. Philip Chukwu, outgoing Group Executive Director (Refineries & Petrochemicals), and Billy Agha, outgoing Group Executive Director (Engineering & Technology) are to proceed on retirement.

“President Jonathan commends the outgoing directors for their service to the nation and urges the new management team to be fully committed to rapidly implementing the critical interventions needed to positively transform Nigeria’s petroleum industry.”

To contact BusinessNews for Press Release, Tips, News, Opinions and Advertisement: 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s